Make: crochet love hearts

For Christmas, I really wanted to make some of my gifts, mainly to:

  • save money
  • avoid the shopping centres
  • not contribute to a wasteful society by getting single use gifts with lots of packing
  • show my loved ones I care by making something for them from scratch.

I was keen to try some mason jar gifts (more on those in a few days) and wanted to do something handmade to decorate ithem. I learnt how to crochet a year ago and have been enjoying trying new pieces to expand my skills, so I thought a crochet decoration would would compliment the jars.

I searched the web and found a good heart pattern on Crochet Leaf. I modified it slightly to get the look I wanted and to make it three-dimensional. I have listed the modified instructions below. This is very forgiving pattern and it’s easy to fudge your way through a little bit if you lose count!

Crochet love heart ornaments

Select 2 wool colours (to make the instructions clear I’m going to use red and green) and grab a 4.5-5.5mm hook. You’ll also need some toy stuffing.

This pattern uses US crochet terms. For an explanation of each stitch, here is a helpful website.

  1. Make a magic ring with the red wool (this is a good video to learn how to do a magic ring – I struggled for to get it right at first)
  2. Round 1: Chain 2, 15 dc into ring, sl st into top of first dc.
  3. Round 2: Chain 2; 1 dc into same stitch; 4 trc into next stitch; 2 dc into next stitch; 1 hdc into each of next four stitches; 1 dc, 1 trc, 1 dc into next stitch (bottom point); 1 hdc into each of next four stitches; 2 dc into next stitch; 4 trc in next stitch; 1 dc into next stitch; chain 2; sl st into same stitch.
  4. Finish off, pull magic ring closed and weave in ends.
  5. Repeats steps 2-4 to make a 2nd red heart.
  6. To join red hearts together we’re going to do a green border. Start by pulling green thread through the first stitch (ie the heart indent) and make a loop to secure. Make sure you leave a good 10-15cm tail.
  7. Round 3: chain 1; 1 dc in next stitch; 2 dc in next 5 stitches; 1 dc in next 6 stitches; 1 dc, 1 trc in next stitch (you are now at the bottom point); 1 trc, 1 dc in next stitch; 1 dc in next 6 stitches; (NOTE! stop here and stuff the heart!); 2 dc in next 5 stitches; 1 dc in next stitch, chain 1, slip stitch into centre point.
  8. Trim green thread to 10-15cm and knot both green threads together (these can be used to attach the heart to a gift or hang the heart up).

 

Here is a couple of examples of how you can use them.

20151214_143504[1]
As tree decorations (yes that’s a little white owl peaking through and my tree is black!)

20151214_153736[1]
As a decoration for gifts, like these choc chips cookies I made for my mason jar gifts.

xx

One thought on “Make: crochet love hearts

Leave a Reply

